NELFUND Opens Students Loan Application For State-Owned Universities – How To Apply

NELFUND Opens Students Loan Application For State-Owned Universities – How To Apply

The Nigerian Education Loan Fund (NELFUND) has opened its application portal for students attending 36 state-owned tertiary institutions. This expansion allows more students across Nigeria to apply for federal government loans.

First Phase Rollout and New Announcements

In May 2024, NELFUND launched the first phase of its student loan scheme, targeting students from federal institutions.

As of July 7, 2024, the scheme now includes students from state-owned institutions, significantly broadening its reach.

NELFUND confirmed that the management of these state institutions has successfully submitted student data to the NELFUND Student Verification System (SVS), enabling this expansion.

Encouragement for Other Institutions

NELFUND urges other state-owned institutions to promptly submit their student data to the SVS to ensure their students can also benefit from the loan scheme. Timely submission is crucial to avoid delays in access to these financial resources.

Eligible Institutions

Students from the following 36 state-owned universities and colleges are now eligible to apply for the loans:

  • Adamawa State University, Mubi
  • Ramat Polytechnic, Maiduguri
  • Borno State University
  • Mohammet Lawan College of Agriculture, Borno State
  • Edo State University, Uzairue
  • Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti
  • Gombe State University
  • Kingsley Ozumba Mbadiwe University, Imo State
  • Imo State University of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences, Umuagwo
  • Nuhu Bamalli Polytechnic, Zaria
  • Yusuf Maitama Sule University, Kano
  • Umaru Musa Yar’adua University, Katsina
  • Katsina State Institute of Technology and Management
  • Kebbi State University of Science and Technology, Aliero
  • Confluence University of Science and Technology, Kogi State
  • Lagos State University of Education
  • Lagos State University
  • Nasarawa State University, Keffi
  • Tai Solarin University of Education, Ogun State
  • University of Medical Sciences, Ondo
  • Osun State University
  • University of Ilesa, Osun State
  • Government Technical Colleges (GTC) in ARA, GBONGAN, IJEBU-JESA, ILE-IFE, INISA, IWO, OSU, OTAN AYEGBAJU, all in Osun State
  • Osun State College of Education, Ila-Orangun
  • Government Technical College, Ile-Ife
  • Osun State College of Technology
  • Taraba State University, Jalingo
  • Umar Suleiman College of Education, Gashua, Yobe State
  • Zamfara State University, Talata Mafara

How To Apply For FG Student Loan

Create an Account

  1. Visit
  2. Click on “Apply Now”
  3. Select “Get Started”
  4. Confirm your eligibility by answering the question, “Yes, I am a Nigerian”
  5. Verify your educational information by selecting your school and providing your matric number
  6. Verify with JAMB by entering your JAMB details (or NIN if not registered with JAMB)
  7. Sign up by entering your email address and creating a password
  8. Confirm your account activation by clicking the verification link provided in the email sent to you

Complete Your Profile

  1. Log into your account using your email address and password
  2. Update your contact details: phone number, residential address, state, and local government area
  3. Update your educational information by choosing your school and entering your matriculation number
  4. Verify your BVN: enter your BVN, bank name, and account number

Loan Application Process

  1. After logging in, go to the “Request for Student Loan” section
  2. Choose the type of loan: upkeep loan or institutional charge
  3. Upload supporting documents: admission letter (compulsory), student ID, and institution invoice (optional)
  4. Agree to the policy and declaration, then submit your application
  5. Check the status of your application by clicking on the “Loans” button

Background on the Student Loan Scheme in Nigeria

In June 2023, President Bola Tinubu introduced an initial version of the student loan initiative. This program, designed to offer interest-free loans to students, was originally planned to launch in October 2023.

However, the rollout was delayed and re-enacted in April 2024. This current phase marks a significant milestone in the federal government’s commitment to making higher education accessible to more Nigerian students.

This comprehensive initiative by NELFUND demonstrates a concerted effort to support educational advancement in Nigeria. By expanding the eligibility to include state-owned institutions, the federal government ensures that a broader segment of the student population can benefit from financial aid, promoting educational equity and opportunities across the country.

Leave a Comment